The country of diversity

July 16, 2008

Brazilian regions


Politically, Brazil is a federation of 26 states and one federal district which contains the capital city, Brasília. The national territory is divided in five main regions: North, Northeast, Central-West, Southeast and South.


Its immense area along the eastern coast of South America and others factors of size, relief, climate, and natural resources make Brazil geographically diverse.

Brazilian topography is also diverse, including hills, mountains, plains, highlands, and scrublands. Much of Brazil lies between 200 metres (660 ft) and 800 metres (2,600 ft) in elevation. 


Let’s begin from the beginning!

July 16, 2008

That’s our first class! Nothing better than beginning from the basic information. Let’s have an overview of the country!


– Brazil is a 508 years old country. It was a colony of Portugal from the landing of Pedro Álvares Cabral in 1500.


– Brazil covers nearly half of South America and is the continent’s largest nation. It extends 2,965 mi (4,772 km) north-south, 2,691 mi (4,331 km) east-west, and borders every nation on the continent except Chile and Ecuador.


– Its 2008 estimate population is 186,757,608 people.


– Brazil is a Portuguese-speaking and multiethnic society. It is the only Latin American nation that derives its language and culture from Portugal.


– It is the fifth largest country by geographical area, the fifth most populous country, and the fourth most populous democracy in the world.


– Its government is a Presidential Federal Republic and its president is Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva.


July 16, 2008


As a Brazilian living in the United States and interacting with people from all over the world, I’ve been constantly asked about my homeland.

Thinking about that, I decided to create this blog to help non-Brazilians to learn A BIT ABOUT BRAZIL.

I hope you enjoy and have a great trip!!